Join the Club
We welcome rowers of all ages and skill levels
Sponsor the Club
Join our local partners
Book our Function Room
A great space for a dinner, a meeting or a team-building event.
Learn to Row
Maidenhead Rowing Club invites you to try your hand at rowing
 

NEW TO ROWING?

Maidenhead Rowing Club runs a series of adult (18+) Learn to Row courses aimed at those who have never rowed before and fancy giving it a go.

  • For enquiries regarding Junior Learn to Row, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or go to the Junior squad pages here.

The courses are run by experienced coaches who are British Rowing accredited.

Evening courses comprise 8 x 2-hour sessions held at the Club on Mondays and Wednesdays from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. In addition, this year we will be running a course on a Tuesday and Thursday mornings starting at 9:30am: see below for the dates.

Course Overview

* Introduction Session: Your first visit to the Club will be an introduction to the sport of rowing and to the Club, outlining how it is run and the facilities on offer. This session will give you the opportunity to get to know the coaches and your fellow course attendees. Please come in sports kit, as there will be an introduction to technique.

L2R page image1

 

* The Course: We will teach you the basics of sculling (an oar in each hand) to a determined level in wide and stable boats. Depending on river conditions you will also be able to go out in a single scull.

* Post Learn to Row: At the end of the course there will be the opportunity to join the club and join either the Recreational or Competitive squads subject to meeting the appropriate squad criteria.

 * How to Apply: The cost of the Learn to Row Stage 1 course is £190.00 per person which includes membership of the Club for the duration of the course. 

 

The courses are very popular and are restricted in terms of numbers on each course. So if you are interested, in order to secure a place on the best course for you, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., as soon as you can. We will contact you and run through the options so you join the appropriate course. If you would like to take a place on the course suggested, we will send you the application form to submit along with the course fee.


Please note that rowing is a physical sport and there will be some lifting and carrying of boats at each session. In addition you must be able to swim at least 50 metres in light clothing to undertake these courses. 

L2R page image2

British Rowing Certified. Maidenhead Rowing Club is one of the major rowing clubs in the country to hold British Rowing accreditation as a Learn to Row Centre.


                                         Learn to Row Courses in 2018

 

Course A (1st evening course). 6.30pm-8.30pm - Max 8 candidates  FULL

Dates: Mon 16 Apr, Wed 18 Apr, Mon 23 Apr, Wed 25 Apr, Mon 30 Apr, Wed 02 May, Tue 08 May, Wed 09 May

Course B (2nd evening course). 6.30pm-8.30pm - Max 8 candidates  FULL

Dates: Tue 29 May, Wed 30 May, Mon 04 Jun, Wed 06 Jun, Mon 11 Jun, Wed 13 Jun, Mon 18 Jun, Wed 20 Jun

Daytime course. 9.30am-11.30am - Max 8 candidates   FULL

Dates: Tue 17 Apr, Thu 19 Apr, Tue 24 Apr, Thu 26 Apr, Tue 01 May, Thu 03 May, Tue 08 May, Thu 10 May

If your preferred course is full, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so you can go on the waiting list ifor the next available course.


For all enquiries regarding Adult Learn to Row courses, please email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

For enquiries regarding Junior Learn to Row, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or go to the Junior squad pages here.

 

BritishRowing150x150    Row safe         Explore rowing           Sport England - Lottery funded       World Rowing  AntiDoping